Smarden School is situated in a popular rural village, whilst being situated just outside the main town of Ashford. The school is very much the focal aspect of village life.
Parents and governors are very interested and supportive of the school and play an active part in school life. Whilst the majority of our pupils reside in the village of Smarden, others travel from a wider catchment area to experience our family centred education.
Stephen Dadson, a Bethersden bricklayer, founded our village school in 1716. The original school building can still be seen in our village, opposite the Post office. The current building dates back to 1858 and was extended in 1995. We have a great deal to look back on with pride but we always enthusiastically challenge ourselves to continually enhance our provision for our children as they begin their lifelong learning journey.
The site is interesting with a purpose built outdoor classroom, a wooded area and a pond. Our school offices occupy the original school building dating from 1870. We have the benefit of a generous playing field which is used for recreational sessions, games and after school activities.